Figure 2: Roadmap governance structure

The Roadmap’s governance structure sets out the coordination mechanisms for implementing initiatives and the mechanisms for cooperation between the Official Languages Secretariat and the partner departments and agencies. It also provides dialogue links with other key official languages stakeholders.

The Cabinet sets the strategic directions, and the Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages coordinates the Roadmap’s implementation at the policy level.

The Committee of Assistant Deputy Ministers on Official Languages acts on behalf of all Roadmap partner departments and agencies. It supports the Minister responsible for Official Languages, assumes leadership for managing the Roadmap, coordinates the partners’ actions, and implements the Horizontal Results-based Management and Accountability Framework. 

This Committee is supported by three interdepartmental committees: the Interdepartmental Policy Committee, the Interdepartmental Official Languages Program Management Committee, and the Coordinating Committee on Official Languages Research.

The Official Languages Secretariat plays a key role in the governance structure: it supports the Minister responsible for Official Languages by providing timely information, guidance and strategic advice; it coordinates the operations of the interdepartmental committees; it provides operational support throughout the duration of the Roadmap; and it collects the information from the partner departments and agencies for integrated Roadmap reporting.

The partner departments and agencies are responsible for implementing the Roadmap initiatives. They take part in the horizontal management of all Roadmap initiatives through interdepartmental committees and the Committee of Assistant Deputy Ministers on Official Languages.

The provincial and territorial governments, official-language minority communities and other partners, such as the scientific and academic community, take part in ongoing dialogue with the Roadmap departments and agencies and the Official Languages Secretariat.

A number of agencies are responsible for verifying that the Government of Canada fulfils its official languages obligations and commitments. The Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages oversees compliance with the Official Languages Act and reports to Parliament. The House of Commons and Senate parliamentary committees oversee the application of the Official Languages Act and legislative framework in force. These two committees monitor the implementation of the official languages strategies and review the reports submitted to Parliament by the Commissioner of Official Languages, the Minister of Canadian Heritage and the Treasury Board President. They can also call government officials to appear before Parliament, particularly the Minister responsible for Official Languages.


[ Table of Contents ]