Harper Government Supports Festival Ha’Rikud

VANCOUVER, March 2, 2012 - The Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver will host its 9th Festival Ha’Rikud, thanks to support from the Government of Canada. This was announced today by Wai Young, Member of Parliament (Vancouver South), on behalf of the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

Funding will allow the Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver to present Festival Ha’Rikud featuring Israeli dance performed by artists of all ages. The two-day festival, which runs from May 20 to 21, showcases Jewish and Israeli culture through music and dance, bringing together residents from across the Lower Mainland.

“Our Government received a strong mandate from Canadians to invest in important heritage organizations like the Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver,” said Minister Moore. “By supporting this local festival, our Government is delivering on its commitment to strengthen our economy and support our arts, culture, and heritage.”

“Thanks to the ongoing efforts and dedication of the Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver, residents of all ages have access to live entertainment and contemporary culture,” said Ms. Young. “Through Festival Ha’Rikud, we can all experience Jewish and Israeli culture through music and dance.”

“I am proud of the Canadian Government in their continued support of the JCC Festival Ha’Rikud. It shows its commitment to the diversity of Canadian culture. The financial support of the Government assists us in organizing this festival,” said Debbie Setton Tabenkin, Program Director, Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver. “By highlighting the positive aspects of Israeli culture, we aspire to broaden people’s understanding and perception of the depth and beauty of this multi-ethnic culture.”

The Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver is a non-profit organization that offers cultural, educational, recreational and social programs in the community. Since its inception in 2004, Festival Ha’Rikud has become a successful model for outreach programming that engages residents of all ages throughout Greater Vancouver.

The Government of Canada has provided funding of $14,300 through the Building Communities Through Arts and Heritage program of the Department of Canadian Heritage. This program provides Canadians with more opportunities to take part in activities that present local arts and culture and celebrate local history and heritage.

Le gouvernement Harper appuie le Festival Ha’Rikud

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

VANCOUVER, le 2 mars 2012 - Le Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver organisera son 9e Festival Ha’Rikud, grâce à l’appui du gouvernement du Canada. C’est ce qu’a annoncé aujourd’hui Mme Wai Young, députée de Vancouver-Sud, au nom de l’honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles.

Cet investissement permettra au Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver de présenter le Festival Ha’Rikud, qui propose des spectacles de danse israélienne mettant en vedette des artistes de tous âges. Ce festival de deux jours, qui se déroulera les 20 et 21 mai, met en lumière la culture juive et israélienne par la musique et la danse, et favorise le rassemblement des résidants de tout le Lower Mainland.

« Les Canadiens nous ont donné un mandat clair, celui d’investir dans d’importants organismes patrimoniaux tels que le JJewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver, a déclaré le ministre Moore. En appuyant ce festival local, notre gouvernement honore son engagement à consolider notre économie et à appuyer les arts, la culture et le patrimoine d’ici. »

« Grâce aux efforts continus et au dévouement du personnel du Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver, les résidants de tous âges peuvent assister à des spectacles et participer à des activités culturelles modernes, a précisé Mme Young. Par l’entremise du Festival Ha’Rikud, nous pouvons tous nous imprégner de la culture juive et israélienne au moyen de la musique et de la danse. »

« Je suis heureuse que le gouvernement du Canada appuie le Festival Ha’Rikud du Jewish Community Centre. Ce soutien continu témoigne de son engagement envers la culture canadienne dans toute sa diversité. Grâce à l’appui financier du gouvernement, nous serons en mesure d’organiser ce festival, a déclaré Mme Debbie Setton Tabenkin, directrice de programme, Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver. En mettant en lumière les aspects positifs de la culture israélienne, nous voulons permettre aux gens de mieux connaître et comprendre l’étendue et la beauté de cette culture multiethnique. »

Le Jewish Community Centre of Greater Vancouver, organisme sans but lucratif, offre des programmes culturels, éducatifs, récréatifs et sociaux au sein de la communauté. Depuis sa création en 2004, le Festival Ha’Rikud est devenu un modèle de réussite en matière de programmes de sensibilisation qui suscitent l’intérêt des jeunes et moins jeunes de la région du Grand Vancouver.

Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé cet appui de 14 300 dollars par l’entremise du programme Développement des communautés par le biais des arts et du patrimoine du ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Ce programme vise à offrir aux Canadiens davantage d’occasions de participer à des activités qui mettent en évidence les arts et la culture de la scène locale ou qui célèbrent l’histoire et le patrimoine d’une région.