Harper Government Supports the National Theatre School of Canada

MONTRÉAL, March 2, 2012 - The National Theatre School (NTS) of Canada will continue to provide high-calibre training to theatre arts students, thanks in part to an investment from the Government of Canada. This was announced today by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages.

The National Theatre School of Canada offers professional training in French and English in disciplines such as acting, playwriting, directing, set and costume design, and production. The NTS, established in Montréal in 1960, is one of the few schools in the world that unites all the theatre arts under one roof.

“Our Government received a strong mandate from Canadians to invest in important arts organizations like the National Theatre School,” said Minister Moore. “By supporting these organizations, our Government is delivering on its commitment to strengthen our economy and support our arts, culture, and heritage.”

“Just months after ending the year of celebrations for its 50th anniversary, the National Theatre School of Canada is delighted about the confidence shown once again by the Government of Canada, represented by the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage,” said Simon Brault, CEO of the National Theatre School. “The renewal of our operating grant for two years, along with the substantial growing support of the private sector, will allow us to meet educational, artistic, and technological challenges in training the actors and creators who will shape theatre—and the cultural sector in general—in this country in the years to come.”

The Government of Canada has provided total funding of $9,200,000 over two years (2012–2013 and 2013–2014) through the Canada Arts Training Fund. This fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage contributes to the development of Canadian creators and future cultural leaders of the Canadian arts sector by supporting the training of artists with high potential through institutions that offer training of the highest calibre.

Le gouvernement Harper appuie l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada

MONTRÉAL, le 2 mars 2012 - L’École nationale de théâtre du Canada continuera d’offrir une formation de haut calibre aux étudiants en théâtre, grâce, en partie, au soutien financier du gouvernement du Canada. C’est ce qu’a annoncé aujourd’hui l’honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles.

L’École nationale de théâtre du Canada offre une formation professionnelle (en anglais et en français) en interprétation, en dramaturgie, en mise en scène, en conception de décors et de costumes ainsi qu’en production. L’École, fondée en 1960 à Montréal, est l’un des rares établissements au monde à offrir une formation dans toutes les disciplines théâtrales sous un même toit.

« Les Canadiens nous ont clairement demandé d’investir dans des organismes artistiques d’envergure comme l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada, a déclaré le ministre Moore. En soutenant de tels organismes, notre gouvernement tient sa promesse de consolider notre économie et de soutenir nos arts, notre culture et notre patrimoine. »

« Quelques mois après la conclusion de l’année de célébration de son 50e anniversaire, l’École nationale de théâtre du Canada se réjouit de la confiance réitérée du gouvernement du Canada représenté par le ministre du Patrimoine canadien, l’honorable James Moore, a affirmé M. Simon Brault, directeur général de l’École nationale de théâtre. Le renouvellement de notre subvention de fonctionnement pour deux ans, combiné avec un appui croissant et substantiel du secteur privé nous permettront de relever les défis pédagogiques, artistiques et technologiques de former des interprètes et des créateurs qui façonneront le théâtre et plus généralement le secteur culturel de notre pays dans les années à venir. »

Le gouvernement du Canada a accordé cet appui de 9,2 millions de dollars pour les exercices financiers 2012-2013 et 2013-2014 par l’entremise du Fonds du Canada pour la formation dans le secteur des arts du ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Ce fonds contribue à la formation de créateurs canadiens et de futurs chefs de file culturels du secteur des arts au Canada. Pour ce faire, il appuie la formation d’artistes très prometteurs par l’intermédiaire d’établissements qui offrent une formation du plus haut calibre.