Rules for Flying the Flag

Updated April 2003 - changes will be reflected in new edition of Flag Etiquette publication.

Dignity of the Flag

The National Flag of Canada should be displayed only in a manner befitting this important national symbol; it should not be subjected to indignity or displayed in a position inferior to any other flag or ensign. The National Flag always takes precedence over all other national flags when flown in Canada. The only flags to which precedence is given over the Canadian flag are the personal standards of members of the Royal Family and of Her Majesty's eleven representatives in Canada (i.e. The Governor General and 10 Lieutenant Governors).

The National Flag of Canada should always be flown on its own mast - flag protocol dictating that it is improper to fly two or more flags on the same mast (eg. one beneath the other). Further, the following points should be kept in mind:

  • The National Flag of Canada should not be used as table/seat cover, as a masking for boxes or as a barrier on a dais or platform.
  • While it is not technically incorrect to use the National Flag of Canada to cover a statue, monument or plaque for an unveiling ceremony, it is not common practice to do so and should be discouraged.
  • Nothing should be pinned to or sewn on the National Flag of Canada.
  • The National Flag of Canada should not be signed or marked in any way (A border could be attached to the outside edge of the Flag on which it would be acceptable to have signatures leaving the Flag itself untouched).

When the National Flag of Canada is raised or lowered, or when it is carried past in a parade or review, all present should face the flag, men should remove their hats, and all should remain silent. Those in uniform should salute.

Displaying the Flag

The National Flag is flown at all federal government buildings, airports, and military bases and establishments within and outside Canada. The flag may be flown by night as well as by day.

The National Flag of Canada may be displayed as follows:

Flat against a surface, horizontally and vertically

If hung horizontally, the upper part of the leaf should be up and the stem down. If hung vertically, the flag should be placed so that the upper part of the leaf points to the left and the stem to the right from the point of view of the observer facing the flag. Flags hung vertically should be hung so that the canton is in the upper left corner (Figure 4).


Figure 4

On a flagpole or mast

The top left (first) quarter or canton should be placed in the position nearest the top of the flagpole or mast. When carried, the guidelines listed under "Dignity of the Flag" should be respected.

On a flag rope (halyard)

The canton should be placed uppermost, raised as closely as possible to the top with the flag rope tight.

Suspended vertically in the middle of a street

The upper part of the leaf should face the north in an east-west street (Figure 5), and face east in a north-south street (Figure 6), thus being on the left of the observer facing east or south respectively.


Figure 5


Figure 6

Projected from a building

Displayed horizontally or at an angle from a window or balcony, the canton must point outward.

Affixed on a motor vehicle

The flag must be on a pole firmly fixed to the chassis on the front right.

Sharing the same base - Three flags

When only three flags are displayed, the National Flag should be at the centre. To an observer facing the display, the second-ranking flag (in order of precedence) is placed to the left of centre, and the other to the right.

A common combination of flags is that of the National Flag of Canada with a provincial or territorial flag, and a municipal flag or an organization's banner. In such a case, the National Flag should be in the centre with the provincial/territorial flag to the left and the municipal flag/organization's banner to the right (to an observer facing the display).

When used to cover a casket at funerals

The canton should be draped over the upper left corner of the casket (Figure 7). The flag should be removed before the casket is lowered into the grave or, at a crematorium, after the service. The flag size for a standard adult-sized casket should be 4 1/2 X 9 feet/ 1.40 X 2.80m.


Figure 7

Position of honour

Due consideration should be given to flag etiquette and precedence whenever the National Flag of Canada or other sovereign national flags or provincial/territorial flags are displayed.

The location of the position of honour depends on the number of flags flown and the chosen configuration. When two flags (or more than three flags) are displayed, the position of honour is furthest to the left (to an observer facing the display). When three flags are flown, the position of honour is in the centre (see "Sharing the same base - Three flags")

Precedence

The order of precedence for flags is:

  1. The National Flag of Canada [1]
  2. The flags of other sovereign nations in alphabetical order (if applicable) [2]
  3. The flags of the provinces of Canada (in the order in which they joined Confederation)
  4. The flags of the territories of Canada (in the order in which they joined Confederation)
  5. The flags of municipalities/cities
  6. Banners of organizations
  7. Historical Flags [3]

If one simply wishes to create a decorative effect (e.g. dressing a house for a festive occasion) it is preferable to use pennants or coloured buntings and not flags.

Alone

When the National Flag of Canada is flown alone on top of or in front of a building where there are two flagpoles, it should be flown on the flagpole to the left to an observer facing the flag.

When the National Flag of Canada is flown alone on top of or in front of a building where there are more than two flagpoles, it should be flown as near as possible to the centre (Figure 8).


Figure 8

When the National Flag of Canada is displayed in a place of worship or on a speaker's platform, it should be against the wall, or on a flagpole on the left from the point of view of the congregation audience facing the celebrant or speaker (Figure 9).


Figure 9

When used in the body of a place of worship or auditorium, the National Flag of Canada should be to the right of the congregation or spectators facing the flag (Figure 10).


Figure 10

With flags of other sovereign nations [4]

The National Flag of Canada, when flown or paraded, takes precedence over all other national flags. When flown with the flags of other sovereign nations, all flags should be flown on separate flagpoles/masts and at the same height, all being of the same size, with the National Flag of Canada occupying the position of honour.

The National Flag should be raised first and lowered last, unless the number of flags permits their being raised and lowered simultaneously.

With the flag of one other nation, the National Flag of Canada should be on the left of the observer facing the flags; both should be at the same height (Figure 11).


Figure 11

When crossed with a flag of another sovereign nation, the National Flag of Canada should be on the left of the observer facing the flags; the flagpole bearing the National Flag of Canada should be in front of the pole of the other flag (Figure 12).


Figure 12

In a line of three flags, the National Flag of Canada should be in the centre. The other two flags should, in alphabetical order, be placed to the left and right of the National Flag respectively, from the point of view of the observer facing the three flagpoles/masts (Figure 13).


Figure 13

When there are more than three flagpoles/masts, the National Flag of Canada should be flown on the left of the observer facing the flags, followed by the flags representing the other sovereign nations ordered alphabetically. An additional National Flag of Canada may also be flown on the right at the end of the line (Figure 14).


Figure 14

In a semi-circle of flags representing a number of sovereign nations, the National Flag of Canada should be in the centre (Figure 15).


Figure 15

In an enclosed circle of flags representing a number of sovereign nations, the National Flag of Canada should be flown on the flagpole/mast immediately opposite the main entrance to a building or arena (Figure 16).


Figure 16

With a combination of flags of sovereign nations, provinces/territories, international organizations, cities, companies, etc.

In keeping with previously outlined practice, the National Flag of Canada, when flown with different types of flags, should be flown on the left of an observer facing the flags. The position of the other flags is determined by order of precedence (Figure 17).


Figure 17

When displayed with a flag of another sovereign nation, a provincial/territorial flag, a company/association flag or club pennants on a flagpole fitted with a yardarm or a gaff, the National Flag of Canada is positioned as follows (Figure 18):

Masts, yardrams and gaffs
Figure 18

With flags of the Canadian provinces and territories

When provincial and territorial flags are flown with the National Flag of Canada, the order is based on the date of entry into Confederation of the provinces followed by the territories. In a grouping of flags that includes the National Flag of Canada and all of the flags of the provinces and territories, the order of precedence is:

  1. National Flag of Canada
  2. Ontario (1867)
  3. Quebec (1867)
  4. Nova Scotia (1867)
  5. New Brunswick (1867)
  6. Manitoba (1870)
  7. British Columbia (1871)
  8. Prince Edward Island (1873)
  9. Saskatchewan (1905)
  10. Alberta (1905)
  11. Newfoundland (1949)
  12. Northwest Territories (1870)
  13. Yukon (1898)
  14. Nunavut (1999)

When there are more than three flagpoles/masts, the National Flag of Canada should be flown on the left of the observer facing the flags, followed by the flags of the provinces and territories. An additional National Flag of Canada may be displayed at the end of the line if desired.

Display along a wall

Display flanking an entrance

Display flanking an entrance - odd numbers from 1 to 13 on the left, and even numbers from 2 to 14 on the right

"V" display for visual effect

"V" display for visual effect – even numbers from 2 to 14 on the left, and odd numbers from 3 to 13 on the right, with the national flag (1) at the base

Carried in a procession

If carried with other flags, in a single file, the National Flag of Canada should always lead (Figure 19).


Figure 19

If carried in line abreast, it is preferable to have the National Flag of Canada at each end of the line (Figure 20).


Figure 20

If only one National Flag of Canada is available, it should be placed in the centre of the line of flags carried abreast (Figure 21).


Figure 21

When the number of flags is even and the National Flag of Canada cannot be carried in the centre (of a line of flags abreast), it should be carried on the right-hand end of the line facing the direction of movement. (Figure 22)


Figure 22

Note: It is suggested that the pole or pike used to carry flags be 7 or 8 feet/ 2.10 to 2.40m in length.

Flown on ships and boats

The National Flag of Canada is the proper national colours for all Canadian ships and boats, including pleasure craft. The Canadian Shipping Act states that a Canadian ship shall hoist the flag on a signal being made to her by one of Her Majesty's Canadian ships, or any ship in the service of and belonging to the Government of Canada; on entering or leaving any foreign port; and if of 50 tonnes gross tonnage or upwards, on entering or leaving any Commonwealth port.

Foreign vessels may fly the Canadian flag as a "courtesy flag" when they are berthed in a Canadian port. The flag then is customarily flown from the foremast.

General rules governing merchant vessels and pleasure craft are as follow:

  • the flag should be worn in harbour and in territorial waters but need not be worn while under way on the high seas unless the vessel wishes to identify her nationality to another ship;
  • whenever possible, the proper place for a vessel to display the national colours is at the stern, except that when at sea, the flag may be flown from a gaff;
  • when in harbour the flag should be hoisted at 0800 hours and lowered at sunset;
  • when a merchant ship and a warship of any nationality pass or overtake one another, the merchant ship should dip the flag as a gesture of courtesy. If on a staff, the lowest corner of the flag should be brought to the level of the rail and kept there until the salutation is acknowledged by the naval vessel. If flown from a gaff, the flag should be lowered to six feet (1.80m) above the level of the deck, until the salute is acknowledged;
  • in times of mourning, the flag may be flown at half-mast, which places the upper corner of the flag next to the staff at approximately three-quarters of full-hoist. As on land, a flag hoisted to or lowered from half-mast position must first be hauled close-up.

Half-masting for Mourning

Flags are flown at the half-mast position as a sign of mourning.

The flag is brought to the half-mast position by first raising it to the top of the mast then immediately lowering it slowly to the half-mast position.

The position of the flag when flying at half-mast will depend on the size of the flag and the length of the flagstaff. It must be lowered at least to a position recognizably "half-mast" to avoid the appearance of a flag which has accidentally fallen away from the top of the mast owing to a loose flag rope. A satisfactory position for half-masting is to place the centre of the flag exactly half-way down the staff (Figure 23).

Masts
Figure 23

On occasions requiring that one flag be flown at half-mast, all flags flown together should also be flown at half-mast. Flags will only be half-masted on those flagpoles fitted with halyards and pulleys. Some buildings fly flags from horizontal or angled poles, without halyards, to which flags are permanently attached. Flags on these will not be half-masted.

Disposal of Flags

When a flag becomes tattered and is no longer in a suitable condition for use, it should be destroyed in a dignified way.

Rules for Half-masting the National Flag of Canada

Notes

  • [1] Her Majesty's Personal Canadian Flag, the standards of members of the Royal Family as well as the standard of the Governor General and the standard of the Lieutenant Governor (in his/her province of jurisdiction and when assuming the duties of the representative of The Queen) take precedence over the National Flag of Canada on the buildings where these dignitaries are in residence or where they are attending a function.
  • [2] There are exceptions when flying the Union Jack as outlined under the chapter entitled "The Royal Union Flag".
  • [3]For rules on flying historical flags along with the National Flag of Canada, consult the Historical Flag Policy and Rules for Flying Historical Flags in Canada for more information.
  • [4] The flag configurations shown in figures 11 to 16 also apply when the National Flag of Canada is flown with one or more provincial/territorial flag.

Règles concernant le déploiement du drapeau

Dignité du drapeau

Le drapeau national du Canada doit toujours être déployé d'une manière qui convient à sa qualité d'important emblème national. Il ne doit faire l'objet d'aucun traitement indigne ni être placé dans une position inférieure à quelque autre drapeau ou insigne. Notre drapeau national a toujours préséance sur les autres drapeaux nationaux, lorsqu'il est déployé au Canada. Les seules exceptions à cette règle sont les étendards personnels des membres de la famille royale et des onze représentants de Sa Majesté au Canada (le gouverneur général et 10 lieutenants-gouverneurs).

Le drapeau national du Canada doit toujours flotter sur son propre mât. Selon le protocole entourant le drapeau, il ne convient pas de déployer deux ou plusieurs drapeaux sur le même mât (e.g. l'un sous l'autre). En outre, il faut garder à l'esprit les règles suivantes :

  • On ne doit pas utiliser le drapeau national du Canada pour recouvrir une table ou un siège, pour cacher des boîtes ou pour former une barrière sur une estrade ou une plate-forme.
  • Techniquement parlant, rien n'interdit d'utiliser le drapeau national du Canada pour couvrir une statue, un monument ou une plaque en vue d'une cérémonie d'inauguration. C'est toutefois là une pratique peu courante qu'il convient de décourager.
  • Rien ne doit être épinglé ni cousu sur le drapeau national du Canada.
  • Le drapeau national du Canada ne doit porter ni signature ni marque d'aucune sorte (on peut attacher une bordure au côté externe du drapeau, sur laquelle il serait acceptable d'apposer des signatures, tout en laissant le drapeau lui-même intact).

Lorsque le drapeau national du Canada est hissé ou amené, ou encore lorsqu'il passe dans un défilé ou une revue, toutes les personnes présentes doivent lui faire face et garder le silence. Les hommes doivent se découvrir, et les personnes en uniforme doivent saluer.

Déploiement du drapeau

Le drapeau national doit flotter aux endroits suivants : immeubles du gouvernement fédéral, aéroports ainsi que bases et établissements militaires, au Canada et à l'étranger. L'étiquette n'interdit pas de laisser flotter le drapeau la nuit.

Voici la façon de déployer le drapeau canadien :

À plat contre un mur, horizontalement et verticalement

Lorsqu'on suspend le drapeau horizontalement, la partie supérieure de la feuille doit pointer vers le haut et la tige vers le bas. Déployé verticalement, le drapeau doit être placé de telle sorte que le haut de la feuille soit à gauche et la tige à droite, aux yeux des spectateurs. Tous les drapeaux suspendus verticalement doivent être placés de manière à ce que le canton se trouve en haut et à gauche (Illustration 4).


Illustration 4

Sur un mât

La partie supérieure gauche, soit le premier quartier, ou canton, doit être placée le plus près possible du haut du mât. Lorsqu'on le transporte, le drapeau doit flotter librement et les règles énumérées à la section Dignité du drapeau doivent être respectées.

Sur un fil (drisse)

Le canton doit être placé le plus haut possible et la drisse être bien tendue.

Suspendu verticalement au-dessus d'une rue

La pointe de la feuille doit être orientée vers le nord dans une rue est-ouest (Illustration 5) et être orientée vers l'est dans une rue nord-sud (Illustration 6), c'est-à-dire vers la gauche pour le spectateur qui fait face à l'est ou au sud.


Illustration 5


Illustration 6

Sur un mât fixé à un immeuble

Lorsque le drapeau est déployé sur un mât horizontal ou incliné, fixé à une fenêtre ou à un balcon, le canton doit pointer vers l'extérieur.

Sur un véhicule

Le drapeau, sur un mât fermement fixé au châssis, se place en avant et à droite.

Avec un regroupement de trois drapeaux

Lorsque trois drapeaux sont déployés ensemble, le drapeau national doit être placé au centre du groupe. Le deuxième drapeau, par ordre de préséance, est placé à gauche, pour le spectateur, tandis que l'autre est placé à droite.

Le drapeau national du Canada est souvent arboré avec le drapeau d'une province ou d'un territoire et le drapeau d'une ville ou la bannière d'une organisation. Dans ce type de regroupement, le drapeau national doit être placé au centre, celui de la province ou du territoire à gauche, et le drapeau de la ville ou la bannière de l'organisation à droite (pour le spectateur placé en face).

Sur un cercueil lors de funérailles

Le canton doit se trouver au coin supérieur gauche du cercueil (Illustration 7). Le drapeau doit être retiré avant que le cercueil soit descendu dans la fosse ou, au crématorium, après le service. Dans le cas d'un cercueil standard d'adulte, le drapeau doit mesurer 4 1/2 pi X 9 pi / 1,40m X 2,80m.


Illustration 7

Place d'honneur

L'étiquette et les règles de préséance concernant le drapeau doivent être observées chaque fois que l'on déploie le drapeau national du Canada ou celui d'un autre pays souverain ou d'une province/territoire.

La place d'honneur dépend du nombre de drapeaux déployés et de la configuration choisie. Lorsque deux drapeaux (ou plus de trois drapeaux) sont déployés, la place d'honneur correspond à l'extrême gauche (pour le spectateur placé en face). Lorsque trois drapeaux sont déployés, la place d'honneur est au centre (Voir Regroupement de trois drapeaux).

La préséance

L'ordre de préséance des drapeaux est le suivant :

  1. Le drapeau national du Canada[1]
  2. Les drapeaux des autres pays souverains, selon l'ordre alphabétique (s'il y a lieu)[2]
  3. Les drapeaux des provinces du Canada (selon la date d'entrée dans la Confédération)
  4. Les drapeaux des territoires du Canada (selon la date d'entrée dans la Confédération)
  5. Les drapeaux des municipalités/villes
  6. Les bannières des organisations
  7. Drapeaux historiques[3]

Si l'on recherche simplement un effet décoratif (p. ex., décorer une maison pour une fête), il vaut mieux utiliser des flammes ou des banderoles colorées plutôt que des drapeaux.

Seul

Lorsque le drapeau national du Canada flotte seul sur un toit ou devant un immeuble où il y a deux mâts, il faut le hisser au mât qui se trouve à gauche, pour le spectateur placé en face.

Lorsque le drapeau national flotte seul sur un toit ou devant un immeuble où il y a plus de deux mâts, il faut le placer aussi près que possible du centre (Illustration 8).


Illustration 8

Sur une estrade ou dans un lieu de culte, le drapeau doit être arboré à plat contre le mur, ou sur une hampe placée à gauche du spectateur qui se trouve dans l'auditoire (Illustration 9).


Illustration 9

Lorsqu'il est placé dans une salle ou dans un lieu de culte, le drapeau national doit se trouver à la droite des fidèles ou des spectateurs (Illustration 10).


Illustration 10

Avec d'autres drapeaux de pays souverains[4]

Qu'il soit arboré ou porté dans un défilé, le drapeau canadien a préséance sur tous les autres drapeaux nationaux. Lorsque plusieurs drapeaux de pays souverains sont déployés en même temps, chacun doit être hissé à un mât distinct et à la même hauteur; tous doivent être de même dimension, et le drapeau national du Canada doit occuper la place d'honneur.

Le drapeau canadien doit être hissé le premier et descendu le dernier, à moins qu'il soit possible, si le nombre le permet, de hisser et de baisser tous les drapeaux en même temps.

Lorsque le drapeau canadien flotte en même temps que celui d'un seul autre pays, il doit se trouver à la gauche du spectateur qui leur fait face. Les deux doivent flotter à la même hauteur (Illustration 11).


Illustration 11

Lorsque le drapeau canadien et celui d'un autre pays souverain sont présentés sur des hampes croisées, le drapeau canadien doit se trouver à gauche pour le spectateur qui leur fait face, et sa hampe doit passer devant celle de l'autre drapeau (Illustration 12).


Illustration 12

Lorsque trois drapeaux sont alignés, le drapeau canadien doit se trouver au centre. Les deux autres sont placés à gauche et à droite du drapeau canadien, selon l'ordre alphabétique, pour le spectateur qui leur fait face (Illustration 13).


Illustration 13

S'il y a plus de trois mâts, le drapeau du Canada doit être placé à gauche pour le spectateur qui leur fait face, les autres étant placés en ordre alphabétique. Un autre drapeau canadien peut être arboré à l'extrême droite (Illustration 14).


Illustration 14

Lorsque plusieurs drapeaux de pays souverains sont placés en demi-cercle, le drapeau canadien doit être au centre (Illustration 15).


Illustration 15

Si plusieurs drapeaux de pays souverains sont disposés de manière à former un cercle complet, celui du Canada doit flotter au mât se trouvant directement en face de l'entrée principale de l'immeuble ou du stade (Illustration 16).


Illustration 16

Regroupement de drapeaux de pays souverains, de provinces/territoires, d'organismes internationaux, de villes, de sociétés, etc.

Conformément à la pratique indiquée précédemment, lorsque le drapeau du Canada est arboré en même temps que différents autres drapeaux, il doit flotter à gauche pour le spectateur qui leur fait face. Les autres drapeaux sont placés par ordre de préséance (Illustration 17).


Illustration 17

Voici la disposition qu''il faut respecter lorsque le drapeau canadien est déployé, sur un mât muni d'une vergue ou d'une corne, en même temps que le drapeau d'un autre pays souverain ou d'une province/territoire, ou encore le drapeau d'une société ou la flamme d'un club (Illustration 18):

mâts, bouts de vergue et vergues
Illustration 18

Avec les drapeaux des provinces et des territoires canadiens

Lorsque le drapeau national du Canada flotte en même temps que ceux des provinces et des territoires, l'ordre de préséance suit la date d'entrée dans la Confédération des provinces, puis des territoires. Le drapeau canadien prévaut, et l'ordre est le suivant:

  1. Drapeau National
  2. Ontario (1867)
  3. Québec (1867)
  4. Nouvelle-Écosse (1867)
  5. Nouveau-Brunswick (1867)
  6. Manitoba (1870)
  7. Colombie-Britannique (1871)
  8. Île-du-Prince-Édouard (1873)
  9. Saskatchewan (1905)
  10. Alberta (1905)
  11. Terre-Neuve (1949)
  12. Territoires du Nord-Ouest (1870)
  13. Yukon (1898)
  14. Nunavut (1999)

S'il y a plus de trois mâts, le drapeau du Canada doit être placé à gauche pour le spectateur qui leur fait face, les autres étant placés en ordre de préséance selon les diagrammes qui suivent. Un autre drapeau canadien peut être arboré à l'extrême droite (Illustration 14).

Disposition le long d'un mur

Disposition de part et d'autre d'une entrée

Disposition de part et d'autre d'une entrée

Disposition en forme de "V"

Disposition en forme de "V"

Dans un défilé

Lorsque le drapeau national du Canada est porté en file avec d'autres drapeaux, il doit toujours occuper la première place devant (Illustration 19).


Illustration 19

S'il est porté de front avec d'autres, il est préférable de prévoir un drapeau canadien à chaque bout de l'alignement (Illustration 20).


Illustration 20

Si l'on ne dispose que d'un seul drapeau canadien, il vaut mieux le placer au centre de l'alignement porté de front (Illustration 21)


Illustration 21

Si les drapeaux sont en nombre pair et qu''il est impossible de placer le drapeau canadien au milieu, il faut le placer à la droite de l'alignement, dans le sens de la marche (Illustration 22).


Illustration 22

Note : Il est recommandé d'utiliser des mâts ou des hampes de 7 à 8 pi / 2,10 à 2,40m de longueur.

À bord des navires et des embarcations

Le drapeau canadien est de mise pour tous les navires et toutes les embarcations qui arborent les couleurs du Canada, y compris les bateaux de plaisance. La Loi sur la marine marchande stipule que tout navire canadien doit hisser le drapeau sur le signal d'un navire canadien de Sa Majesté, ou de tout autre navire au service du gouvernement du Canada et appartenant à ce gouvernement; à l'entrée ou à la sortie de tout port étranger et, s'il jauge 50 tonneaux bruts ou davantage, à l'entrée ou à la sortie de tout port du Commonwealth.

Les navires étrangers peuvent arborer le drapeau canadien comme « drapeau de courtoisie » lorsqu'ils mouillent dans un port canadien. Le drapeau flotte alors habituellement au mât de misaine.

Règles générales régissant les navires marchands et les embarcations de plaisance :

  • le drapeau doit être déployé dans les ports et dans les eaux territoriales, mais cela n'est pas obligatoire en route ou en haute mer, à moins qu''on ne veuille signifier la nationalité du navire à un autre navire;
  • dans la mesure du possible, l'endroit indiqué pour arborer les couleurs nationales est à l'arrière, sauf en mer, le drapeau pouvant alors flotter à une corne;
  • au port, le drapeau doit être hissé à 8h et amené au coucher du soleil;
  • lorsqu'un navire marchand et un navire de guerre de n'importe quelle nationalité se croisent ou se dépassent, le navire marchand doit, par courtoise, saluer avec son drapeau. Si le drapeau flotte à un mât, le coin inférieur doit être amené et maintenu à hauteur de lisse jusqu'à ce que le navire de guerre ait répondu au salut; si le drapeau flotte à une corne, il doit être abaissé jusqu'à 6 pi / 1,80 m au-dessus du pont, jusqu'à ce que le salut soit rendu;
  • en période de deuil, le drapeau peut être mis en berne, le coin supérieur près du mât se trouvant alors aux trois quarts environ de la hauteur du mât. Comme à terre, lorsqu'il s'agit de hisser ou de descendre un drapeau en berne, il faut d'abord le hisser jusqu'au haut du mât.

Mise en berne en signe de deuil

Les drapeaux flottent à mi-mât en signe de deuil.

Pour mettre un drapeau en berne, il faut d'abord le hisser jusqu'au haut du mât puis, sans attendre, le ramener lentement à mi-mât.

La position du drapeau qui flotte en berne dépend de sa dimension et de la hauteur du mât. Il doit être abaissé jusqu'à une position au moins perceptible comme étant à « mi-mât » et ne pas sembler avoir accidentellement glissé du haut à cause d'une drisse trop lâche. En général, on obtient un bon résultat en plaçant le centre du drapeau exactement à mi-hauteur du mât (Illustration 23).

mâts
Illustration 23

Lorsque les circonstances exigent qu''un drapeau soit mis en berne, tous les drapeaux qui flottent en même temps doivent également être mis en berne. La mise en berne ne se fait que lorsque le mât est muni d'une drisse et de poulies. Dans les cas où les drapeaux sont arborés à des mâts horizontaux ou inclinés, sans drisse, auxquels les drapeaux sont fixés de façon permanente, on ne procède pas à la mise en berne.

Destruction des drapeaux

Les drapeaux détériorés qui sont devenus impropres à l'usage doivent être détruits dignement.

Règles pour la mise en berne du drapeau national du Canada

Notes

  • [1] Le drapeau canadien personnel de la Reine, les étendards des membres de la famille royale, du gouverneur général et du lieutenant-gouverneur (lorsque celui-ci remplit ses fonctions de représentant de la Reine dans les limites de sa province) ont préséance sur le drapeau national du Canada lorsqu'ils flottent sur un immeuble où ces personnes résident ou remplissent leurs fonctions.
  • [2] Comme l'indique la section intitulée Le drapeau de l'Union royale, certaines exceptions s'appliquent lorsqu'on déploie l'« Union Jack ».
  • [3] Pour connaître les règles pour déployer des drapeaux historiques en même temps que le drapeau national du Canada, veuillez consulter les articles Politique de drapeaux historiques et Règles concernant le déploiement des drapeaux historiques au Canada.
  • [4] Les dispositions qui apparaissent aux illustrations 11 à 16 s'appliquent également lorsque le drapeau national du Canada est déployé avec un ou plusieurs drapeaux provinciaux/territoriaux.