The Royal Union Flag

The Royal Union Flag, commonly known as the "Union Jack", has a long history of usage in Canada dating back to the British settlement in Nova Scotia after 1621. Although the Red Ensign was widely used in Canada from the time of Confederation until the National Flag was adopted in 1965, the Union Jack was the affirmed national symbol from 1904 and was the flag under which Canadian troops fought during the First World War. The Union Jack maintains its presence in Canada through its incorporation in the provincial flags of Ontario, Manitoba and British Columbia.

When flown or displayed in Canada, the Union Jack serves two purposes. First, it is the national flag of the United Kingdom, and second, it is flown as a symbol of membership in the Commonwealth and allegiance to the Crown as approved by Parliament on December 18, 1964.

The order of precedence of the Union Jack in relation to provincial and territorial flags varies in accordance with the reason it is flown:

Precedence - Representing the United Kingdom

When representing the United Kingdom as a sovereign nation, the Union Jack takes precedence before a Canadian provincial/territorial flag (Figure 28);

Precedence when representing the United Kingdom - Union Jack followed by the Canadian flag and then the provincial flag
Figure 28

Precedence - Representing Canada's Membership in the Commonwealth or allegiance to the Crown

When representing Canada's membership in the Commonwealth or allegiance to the Crown, for example during a Royal Visit, the Union Jack will take precedence after a Canadian provincial/territorial flag. (Figure 29)

Canada's membership in the Commonwealth or allegiance to the Crown – Union Jack followed by the Canadian flag and then the provincial flag
Figure 29

Precedence – When displayed as a historical flag of Canada, that is, a flag that was used in the past by the Government of Canada or its colonial predecessors, the Union Jack must be flown in accordance with the Historical Flag Policy and Rules for Flying Historical Flags in Canada.

The Union Jack will, where physical arrangements allow, be flown along with the National Flag at federal buildings, airports, military bases, and other appropriate establishments within Canada, from sunrise to sunset, on the following occasions annually:

  • the date of the official observance of Her Majesty The Queen's Birthday (Victoria Day, the Monday preceding May 25);
  • the anniversary of the adoption of the Statute of Westminster (December 11); and
  • the date of the official observance of Commonwealth Day (the second Monday in March).

"Physical arrangements" means the existence of at least two flagpoles. The National Flag will always take precedence and will not be replaced by the Union Jack.

The Union Jack may be flown with the National Flag at the National War Memorial and at similarly appropriate federal locations in Canada in connection with ceremonies marking anniversaries of events in which Canadian forces participated with other Commonwealth forces.

Le drapeau royal de l'Union

Le drapeau Royal Union, généralement appelé « Union Jack », est en usage au Canada depuis l'établissement de la colonie britannique en Nouvelle-Écosse, vers 1621. Même si l'usage du « Red Ensign » s'est généralisé, de la Confédération jusqu'à l'adoption du drapeau national en 1965, l'« Union Jack » a servi de symbole national officiel confirmé à partir de 1904. C'est le drapeau sous lequel les troupes canadiennes ont combattu au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. Il est toujours présent au Canada, puisqu'il fait partie intégrale des drapeaux provinciaux de l'Ontario, du Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique.

Au Canada, on arbore l'« Union Jack » pour deux raisons. Premièrement, c'est le drapeau national du Royaume-Uni et, deuxièmement, il symbolise notre appartenance au Commonwealth et notre allégeance à la Couronne, ainsi qu'en a décidé le Parlement, le 18 décembre 1964.

L'ordre de préséance par rapport aux drapeaux provinciaux et territoriaux varie selon la raison pour laquelle l'« Union Jack » est arboré :

Préséance - « Union Jack » représentant le Royaume-Uni

Lorsqu'il représente le Royaume-Uni en tant que pays souverain, il a préséance sur les drapeaux provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada (Illustration 28).

Préséance du Union Jack représentant le Royaume-Uni – Union Jack suivi du drapeau du Canada et du drapeau de la province
Illustration 28

Préséance - « Union Jack » symbolisant l'appartenance du Canada au Commonwealth ou son allégeance à la Couronne

Lorsqu'il symbolise l'appartenance du Canada au Commonwealth ou son allégeance à la Couronne, par exemple, lors d'une visite royale, il doit céder la préséance aux drapeaux provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada (Illustration 29).

Préséance symbolisant l'appartenance du Canada au Commonwealth ou son allégeance à la Couronne - Union Jack suivi du drapeau du Canada et ensuite du drapeau de la province.
Illustration 29

Note: Tel que vu par le spectateur

Préséance – Lorsque l’Union Jack est déployé en tant que drapeau historique du Canada, c’est-à-dire en tant que drapeau utilisé autrefois par le gouvernement du Canada ou ses prédécesseurs coloniaux, cet exercice doit se faire conformément à la Politique relative aux drapeaux historiques et aux Règles concernant le déploiement des drapeaux historiques au Canada.

Lorsque les installations matérielles le permettent, l'« Union Jack » doit être arboré en même temps que le drapeau national sur les immeubles fédéraux et dans les aéroports, les bases et les établissements militaires à l'intérieur du Canada, du lever au coucher du soleil, tous les ans, les jours suivants:

  • le jour où l'on célèbre officiellement l'anniversaire de Sa Majesté la reine (Jour de Victoria, le lundi précédant le 25 mai);
  • le jour de l'anniversaire de l'adoption du Statut de Westminster (11 décembre);
  • le jour où l'on célèbre officiellement la Journée du Commonwealth (deuxième lundi de mars).

Par « installation matérielles » on entend au moins deux mâts. Le drapeau national a préséance et ne doit pas être remplacé par l'« Union Jack ».

L'« Union Jack » peut flotter en même temps que le drapeau national, à côté du monument national aux morts de la guerre et en d'autres endroits publics appropriés, au Canada, à l'occasion de cérémonies marquant l'anniversaire d'événements auxquels ont participé les Forces canadiennes et d'autres forces du Commonwealth.